top of page
Search

"Where Should I Live?" by Daisy Valdez



I miss the heat of the sun

The beaches and the artisan

The ground where I played

And the warmth of my brothers.


God gave me 5 senses

Today some have left me,

To see that there are other meadows,

And the direction they have drawn me.


There is no pain in this wound,

I am just a human being.

I can't silence the voice

To say that I am Cuban.


I left my adored homeland,

Because of a human being,

That called himself a brother

And he was just a tyrant.


I miss the smell of the sea,

The waves that bathed me.

The sands where I used to paint

And the view of the rising sun.


I don't hear the clamor of the people

Today I live in the doorway,

In a heavenly sanctuary,

Where I should have always lived.


In this hidden place,

I see the glare of a star.

Who guides me with his wake,

Tracing me other schemes.


Matter is freed

From pain and injustice

Without submission

And From its fire ashes are lightened.


________________________________________


Spanish Translation (original poem)


Donde Debí Habitar?


Extraño el calor del el sol

Las playas y el artesano

El suelo donde jugaba

Y el calor de mis hermanos


5 sentidos me dieron,

Hoy algunos me han dejado,

Para que vea que hay otros prados,

Y los rumbo que me han trazado.


No hay dolor en esta herida,

Soy tan solo un ser humano.

No puedo acallar la voz,

De decir que soy un cubano.


Deje mi patria adorada,

Por culpa de un ser humano,

Que quiso ser un hermano

Y era tan solo un tirano.


Extraño el olor a mar,

Las olas que me bañaban.

Las arenas donde pintaba.

Y el saliente sol de la mañana.


No escucho el clamor del pueblo

Hoy habito en el umbral,

En el santuario celestial,

Donde siempre debí habitar.


En este oculto lugar,

Veo el fulgor de una estrella.

Que me guía con su estela

Trazándome otros esquemas.


Se libera la materia

Del dolor y la injusticia

Nunca pudo ser sumisa

Y con fuego alumbro cenizas.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page